Parc Monceau

                      

the entry gates into Parc Monceau

my absolute favorite part

french duckie (canard)

I don’t know if it is because I am from Kansas and have never really seen a beautiful park before, but I was completely blown away by how stunning and heavenly Parc Monceau was. The best part about it was that I discovered it on accident.

I was on my way home and I decided to walk around a little bit…I thought I was on avenue Foch when I was really on avenue Hoche…an easy mistake to make! Anywho, I saw these beautiful and huge iron and gilded gates so I thought I’d have a looksie. I am not exaggerating when I say that I thought I had died and gone to heaven. It is the most ethereal place I have ever been to. I literally have never seen anything like this parc before and I was completely shocked to find such a huge and beautifully preserved piece of nature in the middle of Paris. The entire place was packed with people sunbathing, picnicking, children riding ponies etc. Honestly, it was not far off from how I imagine my own personal heaven to be like!

The entire parc was like a maze, which is very unusual to find, because most French gardens are very organized and geometric. The more I kept walking, the more fascinating and beautiful it became! There was everything from palm trees,  to monuments, waterfalls, ponds and children running around everywhere. And of course every kind of flower you could ever imagine. My favorite part was this gorgeous pond with a half a row of roman columns encircling it and a huge weeping willow on a small island in the middle of the water. Weeping willows are my favorite trees and the whole scene just begged me to lay down a blanket in the sun and read a book!

Trying to describe Parc Monceau really does it no justice so I hope the pictures help you envision it…but really you have to see it with your own eyes to truly grasp it’s beauty.

xx,

ss

Leave a comment

Filed under Bucket List

Leave a Reply

