Galleries Lafayette-Les Enfants et Les Vitrines

this is the big city/Parisian version of Christmas lights...

There is nothing sweeter and more innocent than children at Christmas time. I love to go to Galleries Lafayette just to look at their precious little faces admiring the dancing toys in the windows.

I vividly remember how important it was to make the absolutely perfect christmas list when I was little. My list always included copious amounts of arts and crafts kits from Hobby Lobby. Everybody has at least one gift from when they were younger that they felt if they did not receive then their whole world would come crashing down. I personally can remember a total of not just one, but four. These gifts were so terribly important that Christmas would have been ruined if Santa did not deliver them…literally. The first one that comes to mind was the “Barbie Queen goes to Prom” board game. I’m pretty sure this game was circa 1960’s, but for some reason it was a hot #1 on my list. I used to have to BEG my sister Meggie to play it with me. She would always end up going with “Poindexter” to prom. haha. Another big and extremely important one I remember was my sweet orange razor scooter around the age of 12-13. You basically were not cool until you had a razor scooter.
I am still happy with my selection of orange. I must have scooted that thing down the drive way, around the cul-de-sac and to the country club over a thousand times.

Next, there was the ever-coveted Samantha American girl doll. DUH!!! Given to me by my Grandma and Grandpa on Christmas Eve of third grade. Quite possibly one of the best moments of my life. I really didn’t think I was getting her, my mom told me over and over that American Girl dolls were too expensive. She was so sly. I also remember my older sister Colleen telling me I was “a dummy” for not asking for Felicity, but I’m still happy with my decision of Samantha because “she had brown hair and I had brown hair”, which is why every girl chose the American Girl doll they chose. All my blonde friends had Kristen, my brunette friends had Samantha and my one ginger friend had Felicity. Molly was an exception to the rule; hair color was irrelevant for her, she was for the girls with glasses.

Last but not least was the year I got my art desk. Ahhhh…I will never forget turning the corner of the stairs and seeing that “real-life professional-looking” art desk. Complete with a roll-y chair, brand new supplies and a whole roll of crisp white drawing paper. I even remember what PJ’s I had on that year…my green plaid flannel ones. I felt like such a grown-up.

So, here’s to all those Moms and Dads out there who make Christmas as special as my parents always made mine…oops I mean Santa 😉 …22 more days!

Gros Bisous

xx,

ss


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

